Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)


LACMA was founded in 1961, splitting from the Los Angeles Museum of History, Science and Art. Four years later, it moved to the Wilshire Boulevard complex designed by William Pereira. The museum's wealth and collections grew in the 1980s, and it added several buildings beginning in that decade and continuing in subsequent decades.

Constructed, 1965

The museum consisted of three buildings: the Ahmanson Building, the Bing Center, and the Lytton Gallery. The Board selected LA architect William Pereira over the directors' recommendation of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe for the buildings.

Addition, 1986

Since the mid-1980s, OLIN has been actively involved in the expansion and renovation of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. The original commission was to unite the disjointed complex of buildings and spaces into a logical ensemble.

Renovation, 2008

Renzo Piano led the plans to transform the museum in three phases. The shortlisted candidates were Rem Koolhaas, Jean Nouvel, Steven Holl, Daniel Libeskind and Thom Mayne.

Rebuilt, 2020

Four buildings on the campus were demolished to make way for a reconstructed facility designed by Peter Zumthor.