These works were executed by 8 different sculptors. Johannes Gelert: Denmark; Albert Jaegers: Belgium; Augustus Henry Lukeman: Genoa; Frederick Wellington Ruckstuhl: Phoenicia; Francois Elwell: Greece; Francis Michel Louis Tonett: Venice; Louis Saint-Gaudens: Holland and Portugal; Charles Garfly: France and England; and Karl Theodore Francis Bitter. Each sculpture depicts a different symbol of Government.Above the main cornice are a group of standing sculptures of personifications of seafaring nations. There are twelve such statues, which depict commercial hubs through both ancient and modern history. Each sculpture is 11 feet (3.4 m) tall and weighs 20 short tons (18 long tons; 18 metric tons). These sculptures were arranged in chronological sequence from east to west, so that the easternmost sculptures were of ancient Greece and Rome, while the westernmost sculptures were of the more recent French and British empires.One of these sculptures, Germania by Albert Jaegers, was modified in 1918 to display Belgian insignia rather than German insignia.

Constructed, 1907


Related Sites