The Architects Collaborative (TAC) Office


Shortly after Gropius emigrated to the United States to head Harvard University's Graduate School of Design, he formed The Architects' Collaborative (TAC), headquartered in Cambridge, MA. Partnering with seven younger, but rising architects - Benjamin Thompson, John C. Harkness, Sarah P. Harkness, Norman C. Fletcher, Jean B. Fletcher, Robert S. McMillan, and Louis A. McMillan - they designed a number of buildings, with public schools and hospitals becoming a specialty. The firm's philosophy centered around collaboration, design by consensus, and equal ownership and partnership, and TAC's office reflected this as well with its transparent room dividers. The firm operated out of this office until 1995.


Related Playlist